Ashwin named 12th man, only Indian in ICC Test team of the year

  • ANI, Dubai
  • Updated: Dec 02, 2015 15:26 IST
India’s captain Virat Kohli (L) and Ravichandran Ashwin appeal unsuccessfully for a catch against South Africa’s captain Hashim Amla on the third day of the third Test match in Nagpur on November 27, 2015. (AFP Photo)

No Indian player has featured in the International Cricket Council (ICC) Test team of the year’s starting 11, with the side’s only inclusion being offspinner Ravichandran Ashwin, who was named as the 12th man.

The side is captained by England’s Alastair Cook, who has been named captain of the team for the second time in his career. In addition to Cook, the list includes two other Englishmen in Stuart Broad and Joe Root. This is the fifth time since 2009 that Broad has been selected in the Test team of the year having previously been included in 2009, 2011, 2012 and 2014. For Cook, this is his fourth selection.

Steven Smith is one of three Australian players selected alongside opener David Warner, for the second successive year, and pace bowler Josh Hazlewood.

The side also features three Pakistan players -- Younis Khan, wicket-keeper Sarfraz Ahmed and leg-spinner Yasir Shah.

New Zealand duo Trent Boult and Kane Williamson make up the starting team.

The ICC on Wednesday announced its Test team of the year, as chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by its Cricket Committee chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble.

also read

Ahead of decider against New Zealand, MS Dhoni shows intent at practice
Show comments