Aus retain winning side for Perth | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 17, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Aus retain winning side for Perth

cricket Updated: Jan 10, 2008 11:51 IST

Highlight Story

Australia on Thursday retained the 12-man squad which played against India in Sydney for the third cricket Test in Perth starting January 16.

"The National Selection Panel has retained the same 12-man squad that represented Australia in the first two games of the Border Gavaskar Trophy," Cricket Australia's (CA) National Selection Panel chairman Andrew Hilditch said in a statement.

Australia lead the four-match series 2-0 after recording a record-equalling 16th straight Test win in the controversy-marred Sydney Test.
The playing XI is yet to be finalised for the Perth match but with the WACA ground known to be a pacer's paradise, chinaman bowler Brad Hogg is likely to make way for slinger Shaun Tait in the side.

There are doubts about opener Matthew Hayden's availability after he picked up a leg injury in Sydney and his fitness would be reviewed before the match.

"Matthew Hayden's fitness will be reviewed by medical staff in the days leading up to the Test match," Hilditch said.

The squad: Ricky Ponting (captain), Adam Gilchrist (v-c & w-k), Stuart Clark, Michael Clarke, Matthew Hayden, Brad Hogg, Michael Hussey, Phil Jaques, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Andrew Symonds, Shaun Tait.