Aus unveils six test schedule for 2009/10 | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 09, 2016-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Aus unveils six test schedule for 2009/10

cricket Updated: May 27, 2009 11:07 IST

Highlight Story

Australia will play six Tests on home soil in the southern summer, hosting the West Indies and then Pakistan in back-to-back series.

Cricket Australia on Wednesday released an international schedule for the domestic summer featuring 10 limited-overs internationals and three Twenty20 internationals on top of the two three-test series.

The Australians will start Nov. 26 in Brisbane against the West Indies, with the subsequent matches in Adelaide (Dec. 4-8) and Perth (Dec. 16-20).

The Test series against Pakistan will start Dec. 26, Australia's traditional Boxing Day test at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, with the second test in Sydney (Jan. 3-7) and the third at Hobart (Jan. 14-18).

"The last time Australia played Pakistan (December, 1999) in Hobart it was a thrilling encounter that saw a magnificent partnership between Justin Langer and Adam Gilchrist steer Australia to victory on the final day," Cricket Australia chief executive James Sutherland said.

Gilchrist, in the second of his 96 Test matches, went in with Australia facing defeat at 126 for five in the last innings at Hobart (needing 242 with five wickets in hand) and scored an unbeaten 149 from 163 balls, including a 238-run sixth-wicket stand with opener Justin Langer, to carry the hosts to victory. Australia will be host Pakistan for the first time since its 3-0 win in 2004-05.

Until South Africa's 2-1 win in Australia in January, Australia had not lost a test series at home in 16 years.

After the tests, the Australians will play Pakistan and West Indies in back-to-back five-match ODI series, starting Jan. 22 and finishing Feb. 19.

The summer schedule was released the day Australia's team departed for the Twenty20 World Cup in England starting next week. The five-test Ashes series against England starts July 8 at Cardiff.