Australia wins toss, elects to bowl against SA | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 10, 2016-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Australia wins toss, elects to bowl against SA

cricket Updated: Apr 13, 2009 14:50 IST

Highlight Story

Skipper Ricky Ponting won the toss and sent South Africa in to bat on Monday in the fourth limited-overs cricket international as Australia chased a win to level the five-match series.

South Africa, which won by 25 runs at Cape Town on Thursday to take 2-1 series lead, retained an unchanged lineup. Australia made one change, with seamer Brett Geeves ruled out because of an injured foot and replaced by Victorian paceman Shane Harwood.

South Africa can keep the No 1 ranking in limited-overs cricket if it wins the series.


South Africa: Graeme Smith (captain), Herschelle Gibbs, AB de Villiers, Jacques Kallis, JP Duminy, Roelof van der Merwe, Mark Boucher, Albie Morkel, Johan Botha, Dale Steyn, Wayne Parnell.

Australia: Michael Clarke, Brad Haddin, Ricky Ponting (captain), Michael Hussey, David Hussey, Callum Ferguson, James Hopes, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Hauritz, Shane Harwood, Nathan Bracken. Umpires: Brian Jerling, South Africa, and Asoka de Silva, Sri Lanka.

TV umpire: Rudi Koertzen, South Africa. Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle, Sri Lanka.