Bangalore, Delhi and Deccan Chargers to represent India in CL T20 | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 24, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Bangalore, Delhi and Deccan Chargers to represent India in CL T20

cricket Updated: May 24, 2009 19:24 IST
Highlight Story

Bangalore Royal Challengers, Deccan Chargers and Delhi Daredevils will represent hosts India in the inaugural Champions League Twenty20 cricket tournament to be held from October 8-23.

Besides the three toppers of Indian Premier League, top two domestic T20 teams from South Africa, England, Australia and the domestic T20 champions from New Zealand, the West Indies and Sri Lanka will participate in the 12-team event.

"In the CL T20, I believe we have a concept that will inspire and motivate the future generations of club, state and county cricketers, while accelerating the development of the game globally," IPL chairman and BCCI vice-president Lalit Modi said at a press conference in Johannesburg on Sunday.

"The inaugural edition did not take place last year due to unfortunate circumstances but we are fully equipped this time around to conduct an extremely successful tournament in India. I am confident that this will be a true global event the scale of which the cricketing world has not seen outside of the World Cups," Modi added.

Victoria and New South Wales will represent Australia, while the Cobras and Eagles will represent South Africa -- the other two founding member nations of the tournament along with India.