BCCI AGM to oust Modi from all posts | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 03, 2016-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BCCI AGM to oust Modi from all posts

cricket Updated: Sep 29, 2010 00:31 IST
Highlight Story

Barring the probe into his financial misdeeds, Lalit Modi will not have anything to do with the BCCI, post-Wednesday. The board's 81st Annual General Meeting, to be held today, is set to oust Modi from all the posts he held. Besides being IPL chairman, before he was suspended in April, Modi was also vice-president and head of marketing committee.

As expected, Rajiv Shukla filed his nomination papers from Central Zone to fill the post. Besides Shukla, Niranjan Shah will replace Chirayu Amin from the West Zone. Amin vacated his place since he had served two terms of two years each. But he is set to be confirmed as chairman of the IPL sub-committee.

Council to be pruned

The IPL governing council will be reduced to half of its current strength of 14. The members will comprise five BCCI representatives and two former captains.

While Amin, Shah, Shukla and Jaitley will retain their posts along with Ravi Shastri, the fifth BCCI representative will either be Jyotiraditya Scindia or Anurag Thakur. The second former cricketer is to be decided.