BCCI scraps Duleep Trophy, revamps Deodhar, Hazare tournaments | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 17, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BCCI scraps Duleep Trophy, revamps Deodhar, Hazare tournaments

cricket Updated: Jul 21, 2015 02:30 IST

Highlight Story

BCCI has scrapped the Duleep trophy and revamped the Deodhar and Hazare trophies in order to change the course of domestic cricket in India. (Image source: BCCI website)

The BCCI on Monday scrapped the 50-year old Duleep trophy due to packed schedule and changed the formats of the limited overs tournaments like Deodhar Trophy and Vijay Hazare Trophy in an attempt to experiment with the upcoming domestic season while.

While announcing 900 matches across all age-groups in men's and women's category, the decision to do away with Duleep Trophy, which was once considered a tournament used for selection trials has raised a number of eyebrows.

As recently as the last year, the Duleep Trophy was selection trial for many Indian team aspirants. In fact KL Rahul made it to the Australia bound Test team on the back of his twin centuries in final for South Zone while playing against Central Zone.

The board has also decided to implement the suggestions given by the Anil Kumble-led technical committee where in the Deodhar Trophy will feature four 50-overs matches across five days between January 24-28. It will be in lines of NKP Salve Challenger Trophy where there will be three teams.

Just like Challenger series, the Vijay Hazare Trophy champions will be one of the teams, which will compete with two other teams (India A or India Red etc). Now these two teams will be selected by the national selectors from the performance of Vijay Hazare Trophy.

"The Deodhar trophy will be played on a 3-team format which comprises of the champion team of the Vijay Hazare tournament and 2 other teams which will be selected by the Senior National selectors," the release stated. Also Vijay Hazare Trophy's national one day championship's format is in for a change from the zonal to knock-out as all teams on basis of performance will now be divided into groups just like Ranji Trophy.

"Starting this year, the senior Men One day and the T20 tournaments will be played on a Group basis( like Ranji Trophy) and not on Intra Zonal basis. Being the first time, the teams have been divided into 4 groups and these groups have been made based on last year's performance in the respective tournaments." the release stated.