Champions league T20 to begin on Sep 23 | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 03, 2016-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Champions league T20 to begin on Sep 23

cricket Updated: Jul 01, 2011 01:39 IST

Highlight Story

The Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20) cricket is scheduled in India from September 23 to October 9. The matches will be held in Chennai, Bangalore and Kolkata, as well as a qualifying event in Hyderabad between September 19-21. The final will be held in Chennai.

The tournament will have 10 teams competing. Seven teams have already qualified for the event. A six-team qualifying event will be held for the first time to determine the final three participants.

Chennai Super Kings have been drawn in Group A along with South Africa’s Cape Cobras, Australia’s NSW Blues and Mumbai Indians. The fifth team from the group will be the team that finishes top of Pool B in the qualifier.

Group B has Bangalore Royal Challengers, Warriors of South Africa, and South Australian Redbacks. The remaining two places will come from the Qualifiers (the top of pool A and the next highest qualifier).