DDCA sports committee polls held | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 16, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

DDCA sports committee polls held

cricket Updated: Sep 22, 2008 23:36 IST
Anam Arsalan
Anam Arsalan
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

“Daar ke aage jeet hai (victory is for the fearless),” a banner at the entrance of the Ferozeshah Kotla Stadium screamed. The occasion was elections to the sports committee of the Delhi and District Cricket Association (DDCA).

Like the past four years, the Vinod Tihara faction asserted its supremacy on Monday, claiming all the 10 posts as opposed to the Ashok Sharma faction, which failed to open its account. “We knew this was coming, afterall we have been working for the better of the game,” said Tihara.

There was a departure this year with retired additional district and sessions judge, B.L. Garg, overseeing the process as an election officer. His presence was required because of the case filed by the Sarojini Nagar Gymkhana, a club owing allegiance to Sharma, in the Tis Hazari Court challenging the executive committee's decision to extend the tenure of the sports committee to two years from the existing one-year period.

The court directed that since the executive committee's tenure was one year, the term of the sports committee, a sub-committee, could not be for a period of two years. As a result, Monday's elections were held under the court’s supervision.

Out of the 112 clubs affiliated to the DDCA, 109 cast their vote while that of Rajnigandha Club was 'sealed' by the election officer. Apparently, D.S. Bawa, owner of the club, was stopped from casting his vote and Ajay Kumar, who the DDCA claimed was the owner and produced papers to prove his ownership, exercised the right in place of Bawa.