Dhoni's gloves ruled illegal by ICC
The match officials found Dhoni's gloves had extra webbing between the thumb and the forefinger which was a violation of Law 40.2, which relates to gloves.cricket Updated: Feb 25, 2008 15:23 IST
The wicketkeeping gloves that Mahendra Singh Dhoni wore during the ODI loss to Australia in Sydney were on Monday ruled "illegal" by the ICC which warned the Indian skipper of a penalty if he uses them again without inspection.
"Dhoni has not been penalised on this occasion but he has been advised that if he uses the gloves again before they have been modified, inspected and cleared, he could be charged for a breach of Clause C1 of the Code of Conduct," match referee Jeff Crowe said in a statement.
Dhoni, on his part, has agreed not to use the gloves after being found to be in breach of the "Laws of Cricket".
"After I raised my concern in the India dressing room, Dhoni immediately changed his gloves on the advice of the India team management which was a reasonable thing to do," Crowe said.
The two on-field umpires, Daryl Harper and Tony Hill, third umpire Bruce Oxenford and Crowe gave the ruling after inspecting Dhoni's gloves following Australia's 18-run victory in a high-scoring thriller in the 10th match of the ongoing tri-series.
The match officials found Dhoni's gloves had extra webbing between the thumb and the forefinger which was a violation of Law 40.2, which relates to gloves.
"The wicketkeeper's gloves shall have no webbing between the fingers except joining index finger and thumb, where webbing may be inserted as a means of support," the ICC said.