England win toss, elect to field against Australia | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 09, 2016-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

England win toss, elect to field against Australia

cricket Updated: Jul 07, 2012 16:19 IST

Highlight Story

England captain Alastair Cook won the toss and elected to field in the fourth one-day international (ODI) against Australia in Chester-le-street on Saturday.

England made two changes from the side that won the second ODI at The Oval by six wickets to go 2-0 up in this five-match series -- Wednesday's third ODI at Edgbaston was washed out without a ball bowled and no teams declared.

The hosts brought in left-arm spinner Samit Patel for his first match of the series in place of off-spinner Graeme Swann, rested for the final two fixtures of this series as he recovers from an elbow injury.

And James Anderson returned from a groin problem in place of Surrey seamer Jade Dernbach, out with a side strain.

Australia also made two changes with left-arm quick Mitchell Johnson and spinner Xavier Doherty dropping out and seamers James Pattinson and Ben Hilfenhaus coming into the side.

England: Alastair Cook (capt), Ian Bell, Jonathan Trott, Ravi Bopara, Eoin Morgan, Craig Kieswetter (wkt), Samit Patel, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Steven Finn, James Anderson

Australia: David Warner, Shane Watson, Peter Forrest, Michael Clarke (capt), George Bailey, David Hussey, Matthew Wade (wkt), Brett Lee, Clint McKay, James Pattinson, Ben Hilfenhaus