Felicitation of 1983, 2011 WC-winning Delhi cricketers called off

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, New Delhi
  • Updated: Dec 05, 2015 12:56 IST
The BCCI informed the Delhi government and the DDCA that a felicitation function cannot be held inside the field of play at Feroz Shah Kotla stadium. (Virendra Singh Gosain/HT Photo)

The felicitation function for Delhi players who were part of the World Cup-winning teams of 1983 and 2011 was called off at New Delhi’s Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium on Saturday.

The Delhi government had originally planned to hold the function from 9:05 to 9:15am, just before the morning session on Day Three of the India-South Africa Test match.

It was learnt that the Delhi government informed the Delhi and District Cricket Association (DDCA) that it will not be organising the function. The Delhi government and the DDCA were both informed by the Indian cricket board that a felicitation function cannot be held on the field of play.

The notification came two days after recently-retired batsman Virender Sehwag was felicitated for his contribution to Indian cricket on Thursday, before the start of the Test.

Virender Sehwag felicitated by BCCI secretary Anurag Thakur before the start of the India vs South Africa Test match in Delhi on December 3. (PTI Photo)

AAP co-founder and spokesperson Rahul Mehra tweeted about the cancellation of the event.

Meanwhile, DDCA treasurer Ravinder Manchanda said the association was ready with its preparations but the last minute turn of events made it a no-show.

“We received an email from BCCI saying that such felicitations shouldn’t be organised on the field of play, meaning inside the ground. We then forwarded the mail to the Delhi government telling them that we as part of the DDCA cannot go beyond the board’s guidelines and we can organise the function outside the field of play.

We were excited to welcome the CM and the broadcasters were also looking forward for the ceremony. We also told the government that the function can very well be organised on the bay area next to the pavilion, at Hill A and Hill B stands. But the government cancelled the plan. Still Bishan Singh Bedi turned up on time at the Kotla but none of the governemtnt official reached the venue. Then even Bedi left since there was nothing happening,” Manchanda told HT.

The players who were to be felicitated were Mohinder Amarnath, Madan Lal, Sunil Valson and Kirti Azad, from the 1983 team. Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Ashish Nehra and Ishant Sharma are the 2011 team members who were to be felicitated. Bishan Singh Bedi was also to be felicitated for his role as a former India captain and Delhi cricketer.

also read

Ross Taylor eyes respite on luckless tour ahead of fourth ODI against India
Show comments