Five cricketing greats enter ICC Hall of Fame | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 10, 2016-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Five cricketing greats enter ICC Hall of Fame

cricket Updated: Jul 18, 2009 10:07 IST

Highlight Story

Four former England players including former captain Graham Gooch and Australia's Richie Benaud have been inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame.

Denis Compton, Harold Larwood and Frank Woolley are the other three British player, who were inducted into the Hall of Fame on Friday during the tea interval on the second day of the second Ashes Test in London.

Benaud and Gooch, along with family representatives of Compton, Larwood and Woolley were presented with their commemorative caps by ICC President David Morgan, ECB Chairman and ICC director Giles Clarke, Cricket Australia (CA) Chairman and ICC director Jack Clarke alongside MCC Secretary Keith Bradshaw in front of a large and appreciative crowd.

One of 13 Australians to be inducted into the Hall of Fame, Benaud was an outstanding leg-spinner who played in 63 Test matches. In a career that lasted 12 years, he claimed 248 wickets with a bowling average of 27.03.

He captained his side to Ashes victory over England on three successive occasions between 1958 and 1963.

"The great thing is that there are a lot of wonderful names and wonderful players in the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame and it is a real privilege to be part of those names," Benaud said on the occasion.

Briton Gooch was one of the most prolific batsmen of his time, making a total of 8,900 Test runs in 118 Tests with an average of 42.58, with 20 Test hundreds to his name.