Heads roll in Pakistan too, three axed | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 03, 2016-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Heads roll in Pakistan too, three axed

cricket Updated: Apr 07, 2011 00:39 IST

Highlight Story

The Pakistan national selectors struck after the World Cup semi-final defeat against India. They showed their intent on building a new limited overs team by dropping seniors Kamran Akmal, Abdul Razzaq and Younis Khan for the upcoming limited overs series in the West Indies. Experienced pace bowler Umar Gul has opted for a break.

In a major move, the selectors have inducted a number of uncapped players, including wicketkeeper Mohammad Salman, batsman Usman Salahuddin, all-rounder Hammad Azam and fast bowler Aizaz Cheema. Junaid Khan, the left-arm pacer, who replaced the injured


Sohail Tanvir has also been retained for the West Indies series. “The idea is to use this tour to try out some promising youngsters and see how they adjust to international cricket,” chief selector Mohsin Khan said.

However, the seniors who had not been selected for the one-day series were still very much in contention for the two Tests against the Windies, he said.

He, however, confirmed that wicketkeeper Akmal, who dropped crucial catches in the World Cup, had been sidelined due to his struggling form.

Sources said Akmal’s international future appeared bleak as the selectors had decided his younger brother Adnan Akmal would keep wicket in the Tests.

The Pakistan board delayed the announcement of the squad by a day as there was pressure to retain Akmal in the one-day side, but the selectors and skipper Shahid Afridi stood firm, sources said.

Razzaq complained he did not get enough opportunity during the World Cup. “I was told to bat at number eight and I hardly got a few overs. So, where does the question of my not non-performance arise?” he asked.

The Pakistan ODI squad: Shahid Afridi (captain), Mohd Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Taufiq Umar, Usman Salahuddin, Misbah-ul-Haq, Asad Shafiq, Umar Akmal, Abdur Rehman, Saeed Ajmal, Tanvir Ahmed, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Hammad Azam, Aizaz Cheema, Mohd Salman.