Henrique in Australian T20 squad | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 22, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Henrique in Australian T20 squad

cricket Updated: Feb 11, 2009 17:24 IST
Highlight Story

Young New South Wales (NSW) all-rounder Moises Henriques has been named in the 13-man Australian squad for Sunday's Twenty20 match against New Zealand at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

Chairman of selectors Andrew Hilditch said captain Ricky Ponting and Mike Hussey would miss the match to give them a break ahead of the Test tour of South Africa which starts next week.

Michael Clarke will captain the team in Ponting's absence while wicketkeeper Brad Haddin is the vice-captain.

"Given the high workload of Ricky Ponting and Mike Hussey since the Indian Test series in October we have decided, in consultation with these players, to give them a rest," Hilditch was quoted as saying in the Australian media on Wednesday.

"With a hectic and competitive South African campaign departing the day after this match, we felt this option was best in the interest of the player's workload management."

South Australian batsman Callum Ferguson has been rewarded following his solid displays in the one-day series against the New Zealand with a place in the squad.

Young NSW opener David Warner will also return to the squad after being dropped from the one-day team.

Hilditch said the selection of Portuguese-born Henriques will provide him a golden opportunity.

"The NSP (National Selection Panel) regards Moises as an exciting young player with the all-round ability to play a role in the World Twenty20," he said.

"We recently included him in the PM's XI match against New Zealand where he played exceptionally well and we are hoping this opportunity will help him to continue his development."

About Warner, Hilditch said: "We regard him (Warner) as an exciting young player who definitely remains in our thoughts for the World Twenty20."

Australia (squad) : Michael Clarke (captain), Brad Haddin (wicket-keeper), Nathan Bracken, Callum Ferguson, Moises Henriques, Ben Hilfenhaus, James Hopes, David Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Peter Siddle, Adam Voges, David Warner, Cameron White.