India, South Africa clubbed in same group in World T20 | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 23, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

India, South Africa clubbed in same group in World T20

cricket Updated: Jul 05, 2009 21:39 IST
Highlight Story

2007 champions India, South Africa and a qualifier have been clubbed together in Group C for the third edition of the World Twenty20 to be played in the West Indies next year, it was announced by the International Cricket Council in Dubai on Sunday.

Defending champions Pakistan, Australia and Bangladesh are in Group A in the tournament that will start from April 30.

Sri Lanka, who finished runners-up in England, are in Group B with Zimbabwe and New Zealand while the hosts West Indies, England and a qualifier are in Group D.

The opening match of the tournament will be played between the West Indies and a qualifier while India also will start their campaign against a qualifier on May 1.

The 17-day tournament is being held in 2010 just to avoid its clash with the 2011 World Cup in the sub-continent. The semi-finals will be played on May 13 and 14 while the final is slated for May 16.

A total of 27 matches will be played at four venues - Barbados, Guyana, St Kitts and St Lucia, and the Kensington Oval will host the final.

In the women's tournament, which will also be hosted simultaneously, teams have been divided in two groups, A and B.

Champions England, Australia, the West Indies and South Africa are in group A, while India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Pakistan are in Group B.