India wilt in face of Kiwi onslaught | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 23, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

India wilt in face of Kiwi onslaught

cricket Updated: Jun 18, 2009 23:36 IST
Arjun Sen
Arjun Sen
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

The Indian women’s team crashed out of the World T20 on Thursday, losing their semifinal against New Zealand by 52 runs. Chasing 146, India could only manage a paltry 93/9 in their 20 overs.

The boundaries at Trent Bridge had been brought in for this game, and while the Kiwis utilised that, hitting 12 boundaries and three sixes, the Indian count read just 6, with just one six.

Kiwi skipper Aimee Watkins was the chief architect of the win, scoring a belligerent 89 off 58 deliveries.

The Indian bowling couldn’t hold its own in the face of the Kiwi assault, and the decision to bowl their highest wicket-taker, Priyanka Roy, for just one over despite the leggie picking up a wicket, didn’t help.

The Indian chase never really got off, with the batswomen managing only 25 off the powerplay overs.

The steady decline towards defeat started as early as the ninth ball of the innings when Poonam Raut found the square-leg fielder for five.

The key, if India were to pull this game off, was Mithali Raj. However, India’s No 3 couldn’t get any sort of momentum in her 22-ball stay in the middle. She hit two boundaries for her 20, before Amy Sattherwhite had her caught at long on.

Mithali’s fall all but signaled the end of India’s World Cup campaign, even though Amita Sharma lent the Indian chase a sense of respectability with a 27-ball 24.

It was a day where nothing went right for the Indians. The bowling was wayward with putting it in the right areas at the death evidently being a problem. And as for the batting, the scorecard said it all.

New Zealand: L Doolan c Chopra b Dhar 3, S Bates c Kaur b Sharma 10, A Watkins not out 89, A Satterthwaite run out 10, N Browne st Naik b Roy 5, S McGlashan b Sharma 4, S Devine not out 14;

Extras: (lb2, w8) 10; Total (for 5 wkts in 20 ovrs) 145;

Fall of wickets: 1-5, 2-45, 3-69, 4-96, 5-120; Bowling: Goswami 4-0-22-0, Dhar 4-1-35-1, Sharma 4-0-21-2, Kaur 1-0-14-0, Raut 3-0-17-0, Gauhar 3-0-28-0, Roy 1-0-6-1

India: M Raj c McGlashan b Satterthwaite 20, P Raut c Devine b Ruck 5, A Chopra c Bates b Pulford 15, H Kaur b Ruck 0, R Malhotra run out 4, A Sharma c Watkins b Satterthwaite 24, S Naik c McGlashan b Bates 2, R Dhar c Bates b Devine 4, P Roy run out 5, J Goswami not out 9, G Sultana not out 2;

Extras: (lb1, w1, nb1) 3; Total (for 9 wkts in 20 ovrs) 93;

Fall of wickets: 1-7, 2-30, 3-30, 4-42, 5-49, 6-58, 7-76, 8-77, 9-87;

Bowling: Devine 4-0-17-1, Ruck 4-0-18-2, Pulford 4-0-17-1, Satterthwaite 4-0-20-2, Bates 4-0-20-1.

Result: New Zealand won by 52 runs.