India wins 'Team of the Year' honour | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 17, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

India wins 'Team of the Year' honour

cricket Updated: Dec 28, 2008 16:23 IST

Highlight Story

Mahendra Singh Dhoni and his men ran away with the 'Team of the Year' honour while Sachin Tendulkar overtaking Brian Lara as the highest Test run accumulator was considered the 'Feat of the Year' by the Sunday Telegraph in London on Sunday.

The leading British newspaper heaped praise on the Indian team and its most celebrated member for taking the game to a higher level.

Choosing the side as the 'Team of the Year', the newspaper said, "Their 2-0 Test series victory over Australia officially ended their opponents' era of relentless domination. And then England suffered. Talent oozes from their every pore.

"Retiring legends are being replaced with astonishing ease. There is depth in every department, and in Mahendra Singh Dhoni they possess not just a wonderful leader but a wonderfully impressive man too," Steve James wrote in the daily.

Describing Tendulkar's overtaking of Brian Lara as Test cricket's highest run scorer as 'Feat of the Year', the writer said it reflected "genuine confirmation of greatness".

"What more can you say? Maybe that his hands are clearly too low on the bat handle. He'd never get away with that as a youngster in England."