Indian women clinch 4th successive Asia Cup | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 11, 2016-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Indian women clinch 4th successive Asia Cup

cricket Updated: May 12, 2008 00:22 IST

Highlight Story

India clinched their fourth successive women’s cricket Asia Cup title by thrashing Sri Lanka by a massive 117 runs in the final at the Welagedara Stadium in Kurunegala on Sunday.

The two teams clashed in the final for the fourth successive time and once again it was the Indians who came out trumps. Player-of-the-Match Asha Rawat fell short of a well-deserved hundred by three runs, while skipper Mithali Raj once again starred with a 66-run knock to help India put on 260 for seven in their quota of 50 overs.

The defending champions then bundled out the hosts for 83 in 35.2 overs with Pujare Seema and Neetu David picking up three wickets apiece.

Electing to bat, the Indians were dealt an early blow with opener Jaya Sharma departing in the second over without scoring a run. Rawat then joined Kavita Jain (28) to steady the innings before the latter was also sent back by S de Alwis with the scoreboard reading 75. Mithali and Rawat then made sure there were no further hiccups until the 38th over.

The Sri Lankan chase never got off and half of their side was back in the pavillion with just 62 runs on the board and almost 28 overs still to be bowled.

BCCI announces cash prize

Mumbai: Later, BCCI President Sharad Pawar announced a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh each to the 15 members of the squad.