Indian women thump New Zealand to clinch ODI series win

  • PTI, Bengaluru
  • Updated: Jul 08, 2015 21:32 IST
The Indian women's cricket team celebrate with the trophy at Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore after winning the ODI series against New Zealand on July 08, 2015. (PTI Photo)

Indian women produced a clinical performance to crush New Zealand by nine wickets in the fifth and final ODI and won the series 3-2 on Wednesday.

After the win, the BCCI announced a cash award of Rs 21 lakh for the team as they fought back from being 2-1 down to win the series.

The final match turned out to be an anti-climax of sorts with New Zealand being shot out for 118 in 41 overs as seven of their batsmen failed to reach double digits.

Suzie Bates top-scored with 42 while left-arm spinner Rajeswari Gayekwad had the best figures of 2/15. Jhulan Goswami, with 2/17, was as economical as ever while Deepti Sharma took 2 for 22.

In reply, India surpassed the target in 27.2 overs with DT Thirush Kamini scoring 62 off 78 balls with 13 boundaries.

Deepti showed her all-round prowess by scoring an unbeaten 44 off 78 balls with 8 boundaries.

BCCI president Jagmohan Dalmiya said: "Congratulations to our skipper Mithali Raj on leading the team with distinction and registering a series win against New Zealand. The team has shown remarkable character to come back from 1-2 to and win the series. BCCI would like to announce a reward of Rs 21 lakh for the team."

Secretary Anurag Thakur stated, "On behalf of BCCI, I would like to congratulate the team on the series win. It was a dominant performance today (Wednesday) and they deserve all the accolades."

"This five-match ODI series proved to be competitive and was a wonderful showcase for the skill and class of women's cricket. It augurs well for the future. I would also wish to congratulate Mithali for reaching yet another milestone in her illustrious career - of crossing 5000 runs. Well done once again for a stellar performance," he added.

Brief scores
New Zealand 118 in 41 overs (Suzie Bates 42; Rajeshwari Gayekwad 2/15, Jhulan Goswami 2/17).
India 121/1 in 27.2 overs (Thirushkamini 62 no, Deepti Sharma 44 no).
India won by 9 wickets and also won the series 3-2.

also read

Record-breaking Younis hails recovery from dengue fever
Show comments