Injury strikes India | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 19, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Injury strikes India

cricket Updated: Jan 09, 2011 01:04 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Makhaya Ntini's wish to bowl to Sachin Tendulkar in his last match on Sunday will remain unfulfilled. The Indian maestro has pulled out from the T20 match that's being played to mark the 150 years of Indians in South Africa.

"I am not playing. I have already informed the board about it," said Tendulkar on the eve of the match.

The main highlight of the match is that it's being played in the world renowned Moses Mabhida football stadium that was built to host several matches during the Football World Cup last year.

The T20 match, however, seems to have been overshadowed by the events preceding and succeeding it. While the build-up to the match has been dominated by the IPL auctions, the Bollywood concert, featuring Shah Rukh Khan, Shahid Kapur and Priyanka Chopra, will steal the thunder from the match.

The teams, too, sounded a bit easy and relaxed about the match. India captain MS Dhoni said the it's tough on the players to "get into the groove for one-odd T20 match".

"We will however give it our best shot. There are quite a few T20 specialist in the squad, so will give our 100 percent when we go out there," he said.

Johan Botha, South Africa's skipper, said he would utilise the game to get into the groove for the upcoming ODI series. "We would like to get the one-day campaign off to a good start. We got three or four months of important one-day cricket coming up. So it's always good to start with a good result. All of us are keen to get out there tomorrow," he said.

Sreesanth injury
Sreesanth has been diagnosed with a tennis elbow injury. The Indian pacer has been advised rest for 48 hours. "It's a mild injury and he should recover within 48 hours," said team manager Ranjiv Biswal.

Live on TenCricket at 6pm:, MS Dhoni Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Yusuf Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Ravichandran Ashwin, Piyush Chawla, Zaheer Khan, Praveen Kumar, Sreesanth, Ashish Nehra, Munaf Patel.