Delhi stuns with Negi bid, Watson most expensive at IPL 2016 auction | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 28, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Delhi stuns with Negi bid, Watson most expensive at IPL 2016 auction

Shane Watson, Yuvraj Singh, Pawan Negi, Yuvraj Singh and Chris Morris were the big gainers as over 350 players in the IPL auction went under the hammer on Saturday. Watson was the biggest earner as he was picked by the Royal Challengers Bangalore for Rs 9.5 crore. Negi was the highest-earning Indian, bought by Delhi Daredevils for Rs 8.5 crore.

IPL 2016 Updated: Feb 06, 2016 22:31 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
IPL Auction 2016

From left to right: Shane Watson, Chris Morris and Yuvraj Singh.(Agencies)

Welcome to HT’s coverage of the Indian Premier League auction in Bangalore.


Rising Pune Supergiants

Player Price (In Rs)
Kevin Pietersen 3.5 crore
Ishant Sharma 3.8 crore
Irfan Pathan 1 crore
Mitchell Marsh 4.8 crore
RP Singh 30 lakh
Ankit Sharma 10 lakh
Rajat Bhatia 60 lakh
Ishwar Pandey 20 lakh
Murugan Ashwin 4.5 crore
Ankush Bains 10 lakh
Peter Handscomb 30 lakh
Thisara Perera 1 crore
Baba Aparajith 10 lakh
Ashok Dinda 50 lakh
Scott Boland 50 lakh
Adam Zampa 30 lakh
Jaskaran Singh 10 lakh

The Gujarat Lions

Player Price (In Rs)
Dwayne Smith 2.3 crore
Dale Steyn 2.3 crore
Dinesh Karthik 2.3 crore
Dhawal Kulkarni 2 crore
Praveen Kumar 3.5 crore
Paras Dogra 10 lakh
Ishan Kishan 35 lakh
Eklavya Dwivedi 1 crore
Pradeep Sangwan 20 lakh
Pravin Tambe 20 lakh
Sarabjeet Ladda 10 lakh
Aaron Finch 1 crore
Andrew Tye 50 lakh
Shadab Jakati 20 lakh

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Player Price (In Rs)
Shane Watson 9.5 crore
Stuart Binny 2 crore
Travis Head 50 lakh
Sachin Baby 10 lakh
Iqbal Abdulla 10 lakh
Praveen Dubey 35 lakh
Akshay Karnewar 10 lakh
Kane Richardson 2 crore
Samuel Badree 50 lakh
Vikas Tokas 10 lakh

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Player Price (In Rs)
Ashish Nehra 5.5 crore
Yuvraj Singh 7 crore
Mustafizur Rahman 1.4 crore
Barinder Sran 1.2 crore
Abhimanyu Mithun 30 lakh
Aditya Tare 1.2 crore
Deepak Hooda 4.2 crore
Tirumalasetti Suman 10 lakh
Ben Cutting 50 lakh
Vijay Shankar 35 lakh

Delhi Daredevils

Player Price (In Rs)
Sanju Samson 4.2 crore
Chris Morris 7 crore
Carlos Brathwaite 4.2 crore
Karun Nair 4 crore
Rishabh Pant 1.9 crore
Pawan Negi 8.5 crore
Sam Billings 30 lakh
Pratyush Singh 10 lakh
Joel Paris 30 lakh
Pawan Suyal 10 lakh
Chama Milind 10 lakh

Mumbai Indians

Player Price (In Rs)
Jos Buttler 3.8 crore
Tim Southee 2.5 crore
Nathu Singh 3.2 crore
Jitesh Sharma 10 lakh
KP Kamath 1.4 crore
Krunal Pandya 2 crore
Deepak Punia 10 lakh

Kolkata Knight Riders

Player Price (In Rs)
Colin Munro 30 lakh
John Hastings 1.3 crore
Jaydev Unadkat 1.6 crore
Ankit Rajpoot 1.5 crore
Jason Holder 70 lakh
R Sathish 20 lakh
Manan Sharma 10 lakh

Kings XI Punjab

Player Price (In Rs)
Mohit Sharma 6.5 crore
Kyle Abbott 2.1 crore
KC Cariappa 80 lakh
Armaan Jaffer 10 lakh
Swapnil Singh 10 lakh
Farhaan Behardien 30 lakh

This time, two new franchises - Rising Pune Supergiants and Gujarat Lions - have replaced Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals at the bidding. Both franchises have five players each hence the onus will be on them to give shape to their squads as early as possible. The other six teams have already retained at least 13 cricketers so quality Indian players will come at a premium.

READ: New franchises face the heat this IPL auction, Yuvraj in focus

A quick gloss over the basic facts first. All squads can have a minimum of 16 players and a maximum of 27. No franchise can have more than nine foreigners in their squads. The ceiling of expenditure has been fixed at Rs 66 crore. After retention, release of players and trading, the teams left with the biggest purse are Delhi Daredevils (Rs 37.15 crore) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (Rs 30.15 crore). The new teams have Rs 27 crore each after they were allowed to pick five players in the December 15 draft. The two teams looking most settled are Mumbai Indians who have retained 19 players and KKR who have held on to 15.

351 players will be going under the hammer on Saturday. That includes 130 capped players, two players from Associate nations and 219 uncapped players. But if all franchises look to fill their quota only 116 players - including up to 36 overseas players - can be bought at this auction.

Among the top Indian players available are Yuvraj Singh, Ashish Nehra, Ishant Sharma, Mohit Sharma, Stuart Binny, Sanju Samson and Dinesh Karthik. Perhaps his World T20 selection was the reason veteran Nehra was bumped up to the marquee players’ list on Friday night. Now there are three Indian marquee players --- Yuvraj, Ishant and Nehra, all with a base price of Rs 2 crore.

READ: All about IPL 2016 auction: Players, purse money, price tag

Apart from the three Indians, Kevin Pietersen, Shane Watson, Dale Steyn, Aaron Finch, Martin Guptill and Dwayne Smith are the other marquee players. There are 11 more foreigners within the Rs 1-2 crore bracket so all franchises have plenty of overseas options to pick from.

Among the Indians, Yuvraj is surely going to be a hot pick while Watson, Finch, Guptill, Jos Butler and Usman Khawaja - who had a great Big Bash league - could be among the top foreigners bought at the auction. An interesting aspect could be the bidding on the U-19 players like Rishabh Pant, Mahipal Lomror, Avesh Khan, Ishan Kishan and Mayank Dagar. They have potential no doubt but are the franchises willing to spend huge on them?