Malinga out of Sri Lanka test squad v England | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 09, 2016-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Malinga out of Sri Lanka test squad v England

cricket Updated: Apr 21, 2011 17:26 IST

Highlight Story

Sri Lanka fast bowler Lasith Malinga will miss the three-test series in England which starts in May.

Chairman of selectors Duleep Mendis said on Wednesday that the Mumbai Indians paceman was nursing a knee injury and had asked to return home for rehabilitation at the conclusion of the Indian Premier League.

He could, however, play in the limited-overs internationals at the end of the England tour.

"Malinga has informed us he would like to skip the test matches to get his knee in shape," said Mendis. "Depending on his progress we can consider him for the one-day series."

Sri Lanka named four uncapped players in their 16-man test squad on Wednesday - batsmen Dinesh Chandimal and Lahiru Thirimanne, all-rounder Thisara Perera and fast bowler Nuwan Pradeep.

Mendis said that new skipper Tillakaratne Dilshan's predecessor, Kumar Sangakarra, would act as unofficial vice-captain.

"In the event Dilshan is unable to captain the side during the tour we have asked Kumar Sangakkara to take over," said Mendis.

Dilshan will lead the team in the test series and the five one-dayers and one Twenty20 international which follow.

Mathews out
All-rounder Angelo Mathews had been tipped for the role of vice-captain but he is out of the three tests because of a thigh strain.

In the absence of retired spinner Muttiah Muralitharan, the spinners will be Suraj Randiv, Ajantha Mendis and Rangana Herath. But, without Malinga, it is the fast bowling department that looks especially thin.

Prasanna Jayawardene has been named wicketkeeper and will have Chandimal as his deputy.

The first test in Cardiff starts on May 26.

Test squad: Tillakaratne Dilshan (captain), Tharanga Paranavitana, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Thilan Samaraweera, Dinesh Chandimal, Prasanna Jayawardene, Thisara Perera, Suraj Randiv, Ajantha Mendis, Rangana Herath, Dilhara Fernando, Chanaka Welegedara, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep.