Mohammed Shami’s 4/26 in vain, Tamil Nadu beat Bengal in Vijay Hazare final | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 28, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Mohammed Shami’s 4/26 in vain, Tamil Nadu beat Bengal in Vijay Hazare final

Mohammed Shami, who was making a comeback from injury, bowled with plenty of aggression to pick up 4/26 but Tamil Nadu were boosted by Dinesh Karthik’s century to beat Bengal in the final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy

cricket Updated: Mar 20, 2017 19:48 IST
HT Correspondent
Tamil Nadu cricket team
Mohammed Shami, who has not played for India since injuring his knee after the Mohali Test against England in November, came back in style in the Vijay Hazare Trophy final against Tamil Nadu by picking up 4/26.(BCCI)

Mohammed Shami produced a sparkling spell of pace bowling on his comeback from knee injury as he picked four for 26 in the Vijay Hazare one-day tournament final at the Ferozeshah Kotla here on Monday. His performance, however, went in a vain as Dinesh Karthik’s magnificent 112 helped Tamil Nadu beat Bengal by 37 runs to win the title for the third time.

Shami, who has not played for India since injuring his knee in the Mohali Test against England in November, made his return in the Vijay Hazare trophy against Gujarat earlier this month, returning with modest figures of 7-0-36-0.

Read | Mohammed Shami defies haters, posts photo with wife on social media

In the final though, he combined with Ashok Dinda to reduce Tamil Nadu to 49/4 after Dinesh Karthik had won the toss and elected to bat.

Karthik then produced a solo effort to lead Tamil Nadu to a defendable total. He led the revival by sharing an 85-run stand for the fifth wicket with Baba Indrajith (32). Karthik then shared vital partnerships with Washington Sunder (22) and Aswin Crist (10) as Tamil Nadu crossed 200 in the 44th over. Karthik’s 120-ball knock included 14 boundaries and he played shots all round the wicket.

However, Shami came back with a bang in the second spell. He got Karthik hit wicket for 112 with a full toss on leg stump and then proceeded to clean up the tail. Tamil Nadu were bowled out for 217 in 47.2 overs.

Chasing 218, Aswin Crist and Rahil Shah reduced Bengal to 37/3 before Manoj Tiwary tried to steady the ship. Vijay Shankar got the big wicket of Tiwary but Sudip Chatterjee hung in there and along with Anushtup Majumdar (24) added 65 runs for the fifth wicket. His fifty gave Bengal hope but once he was snapped up by Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Bengal were all out for 180, giving Tamil Nadu a 37-run victory.

Tamil Nadu bowlers showed great discipline, restricting Bengal on a pitch that didn’t have any demons. This was the third time Tamil Nadu prevailed over Bengal in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. Their previous wins came in 2008-09 and 2009-10.

Brief scores

Tamil Nadu 217 all out in 47.2 overs (Dinesh Karthik 112, Mohammed Shami 4/26) beat Bengal (Sudip Chatterjee 58, Aswin Crist 2/23) by 37 runs.