No Indian in ICC World T20 team | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 11, 2016-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

No Indian in ICC World T20 team

cricket Updated: Jun 23, 2009 01:26 IST

Highlight Story

Reflecting their failed title defence, not a single Indian cricketer made it to International Cricket Council's special team of the Twenty20 World Cup for men announced today.

The ICC special women's team, however, included Indian pacer Rumeli Dhar in it.

A five-member panel picked the 11-member men's team, led by Pakistan captain Younus Khan.

The team, including 12th man Lasith Maligna, contained four players from Pakistan, three each from South Africa and
Sri Lanka and two from the West Indies.

The women’s team, led by England skipper Charlotte Edwards, included five players from the winner, England, four
from beaten finalist New Zealand and one each from Australia, India and Sri Lanka.

Both teams include the respective players of the tournament, Tillakarante Dilshan of Sri Lanka and England’s
Claire Taylor.

The men's team was chosen by a select group of experts, including former England pacer Jonathan Agnew,
cricketer-turned-commentator Ian Bishop, Twenty20 World Cup Tournament Director Steve Elworthy, ICC Match Referee Alan Hurst and Indian journalist Sharda Ugra.