Now, Sri Lanka to start IPL-style meet | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 08, 2016-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Now, Sri Lanka to start IPL-style meet

cricket Updated: May 13, 2011 02:27 IST
Sutirtho Patranobis
Sutirtho Patranobis
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Get ready for some more T20 action in the sub-continent. Modelled on the lines of the Indian Premier League, Sri Lanka, on Thursday, announced their own Sri Lanka Premier League (SLPL).

The seven-team tournament will be held at Colombo’s Premadasa Stadium between July 19 and August 4 and all 24 matches will be telecast live, globally.

"T20’s massive popularity and its status as the most exciting and entertaining format of cricket will be further enhanced by this newest tournament to the world of cricket. The tournament will be held in line with MCC’s ‘Spirit of Cricket’ guidelines," Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) said in a statement.

The board didn’t name the foreign cricketers who will take part, but several players from Pakistan, including Shahid Afridi, New Zealand and South Africa are expected. Interestingly, the names of India players like Yuvraj Singh have also been in circulation.

“International players will be playing the SLPL alongside Sri Lanka national cricketers and young Lankan hopefuls (who will get a platform to showcase their skills on an international stage),” the statement said.

The first edition will feature seven provinces and each team cannot have more than five overseas players in the squad, and four in the XI. The remaining seven players will be Sri Lankans, with one player among them being an under-21 cricketer.

Seven teams will take part this year, with two more provinces slated to join the action within the next three years.

The winning team will get an opportunity to play in the Champions League, which is jointly promoted by the BCCI, Cricket Australia and Cricket South Africa.