Pakistan coach Intikhab Alam is unlikely to face any sanctions for accusing the International Cricket Council (ICC) of 'inconsistency' after off-spinner Saeed Ajmal was reported for illegal bowling action in Dubai on Sunday.
Sources told IANS Tuesday that though the ICC has taken notice of Intikhab's comments after his team's second One-dayer in Dubai, it is unlikely to take any actions against the former Pakistan captain.
According to the sources, the ICC reserves the right to take action against Intikhab but has decided against it because its top brass believes that the coach's comments were not of a serious nature.
The ICC had announced that Ajmal was reported by on-field, television and reserve umpires during the second one-day against Australia, played in Dubai on Friday.
Intikhab was unhappy with the announcement and did not hide his disappointment from media.
"It is surprising and sad. Ajmal has played against four countries and nobody raised any finger on his action and suddenly this decision comes," Intikhab said.
"I think ICC lacks consistency in this process. Ajmal bowled exceptionally well and suddenly they decided that he has a problem with his action," he stressed.
According to ICC regulations, its chief-executive Haroon Lorgat has the authority to take direct action against Intikhab.
"But normally such a move comes after any individual action can damage the spirit of the game," said the PCB source.
"The Pakistan coach is likely to escape sanctions but will have to be careful in the future about giving such statements," he added.
Intikhab,67, took over as Pakistan coach last November from former Australia pacer Geoff Lawson. He played 47 Tests from 1959-77, scoring 1,493 runs and also took 125 wickets.