Pakistan defeat Australia by 6 wickets | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 22, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Pakistan defeat Australia by 6 wickets

cricket Updated: Sep 18, 2007 20:59 IST
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Riding on Misbah-ul-Haq and Shoaib Malik's unbeaten half-centuries, Pakistan register a convincing six-wicket victory over Australia in their Super Eight match of the Twenty20 world championships at Johannesburg on Tuesday.

Earlier, Stuart Clark struck twice in the fourth over to pack off Imran Nazir (10) and Mohammad Hafeez (15). The seamer returned to dismiss Younis Khan.

But Haq and Malik hammered brilliant half-centuries to help the team claw their way back into the game. The former hit 66 off 42 balls, while the latter scored 52 off 38.

After being put in to bat, Australia posted a competitive total of 164 runs despite early setbacks. Pakistan struck early to dismiss Matthew Hayden (1) and Adam Gilchrist (24) within the first four overs.

Andrew Symonds (29) and Ricky Ponting (27) led a partial recovery but Australia were unable to dominate against Pakistan's assortment of medium-pace and slow bowlers. The former was bundled out by Shahid Afridi while the latter succumbed to a delivery off Mohammad Hafeez.

Michael Hussey (37) and Brad Hodge (36) then steadied the boat before being tamped down by Sohail Tanvir and Mohammad Asif respectively.

Both teams won their opening games, Pakistan beating Sri Lanka by 33 runs and Australia cruising past Bangladesh by nine wickets.


Australia: Ricky Ponting (captain), Nathan Bracken, Stuart Clark, Michael Clarke, Adam Gilchrist, Matthew Hayden, Brad Hodge, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Andrew Symonds.

Pakistan: Shoaib Malik (captain), Shahid Afridi, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Asif, Salman Butt, Umar Gul, Mohammad Hafeez, Misbah-ul-Haq, Younis Khan, Imran Nazir, Sohail Tanvir.