Rashtria Sahara retains 4th Airtel media cup trophy | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 18, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Rashtria Sahara retains 4th Airtel media cup trophy

cricket Updated: Feb 14, 2009 15:20 IST

Highlight Story

A half-century by Nitosh Jha (57) helped Hindi daily Rashtria Sahara retain the 4th Airtel Twenty20 media cup cricket trophy for the second time in a row after defeating another Hindi daily Hindustan by 23 runs at the Moin-ul-Haque stadium in Patna on Saturday.

Electing to bat, Sahara piled up 142 for seven wickets in their stipulated 20 overs. Nitosh Jha (57, 5x4,1x6), Rakesh Chowhan (16) and Rajiv Ranjan (14) were the main contributors for Sahara. Vijay of Hindustan took four wickets for 27 and Rahul took 2 for 24.

In reply, Atul Upadhaya of Hindustan remained unbeaten on 63 and Dilip Mishra's 23 could not help the team reach the target as they could manage just 119 runs for the loss of six wickets.

Birendra Singh (2/19), Khurshid (1/18) and Bhashkar (1/26) were the main wicket takers for Sahara.

Nitosh Jha was declared man of the match and his Sahara team-mate Abhay Pathak the man of the series. Dilip Mishra (Hindustan) was declared the best batsman, Birendra Singh (Sahara) was adjudged the best bowler of the tournament.

Speaker of Bihar Vidhan Sabha Uday Narain Chowdhury gave away the prizes to the winners and runners-up teams of the tournament which was organised under the aegis of Sports Journalist Association of Bihar.