Sehwag lone Indian in ICC World Test side | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 17, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Sehwag lone Indian in ICC World Test side

cricket Updated: Sep 11, 2008 10:18 IST

Highlight Story

Dashing opening batsman Virender Sehwag is the lone Indian in the World Test team announced by the International Cricket Council as part of its annual awards function in Dubai.

A selection panel comprising former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd (Chairman), former Australia captain Greg Chappell, former South Africa captain Shaun Pollock, former Sri Lanka opener Sidhath Wettimuny and former Bangladesh batsman Athar Ali Khan named the team.

South Africa's Graeme Smith has been named the captain of the team.

Sri Lankan vice-captain Kumar Sangakkara, his teammate Muttiah Muralitharan and new England skipper Kevin Pietersen are in the side for the second year running.

The two Sri Lankans were in the 2006 team too. Sri Lankan captain Mahela Jayawardene, Cricketer of the Year 2008 Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Test Cricketer of the Year Dale Steyn are also in the team.

World Test Team for 2008 (in batting order): Graeme Smith (SA, captain),
Virender Sehwag (Ind), Mahela Jayawardena (SL), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI),
Kevin Pietersen (Eng), Jacques Kallis (SA), Kumar Sangakkara (SL, wicketkeeper),
Brett Lee (Aus) , Ryan Sidebottom (Eng), Dale Steyn (SA), Muttiah Muralidaran (SL)
12th man: Stuart Clark (Aus).