Sehwag to lead Rest of India in Irani Cup | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 22, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Sehwag to lead Rest of India in Irani Cup

cricket Updated: Sep 17, 2009 00:59 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Teams for Irani Cup and Challenger Series

Irani Cup
Rest of India — Virender Sehwag, M. Vijay, Abhinav Mukund, Wriddiman Saha, Virat Kohli, Manoj Tiwari, Kedhar Jadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Uday Kaul, Irfan Pathan, Sudeep Tyagi, Munaf Patel and Pragyan Ojha

Challenger Series
India Red — Yuvraj Singh (Capt.), Wriddiman Saha (wk), M. Vijay, R Ashwin, Sunny Sohal, Sudeep Tyagi, Shikhar Dhawan, Munaf Patel, Ishant Jaggi, SS Tiwari, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvanesh Kumar, H. Khadiwale.
India Green — Suresh Raina (Capt), Irfan Pathan, A. Rahane, Parthiv Patel (wk), Tanmay Srivastava, S. Jakati, Ravi Inder Singh, L. Balaji, Manoj Tiwari, Dhawal Kulkarni, S. Badrinath, Pankaj Singh, Chetnya Nanda, Uday Kaul
India Blue — MS Dhoni (Capt), Yusuf Pathan, Sachin Tendulkar, Naman Ojha (wk), Wasim Jaffer, Harbhajan Singh, Jalaj Saxena, S Trivedi, Suresh Kumar, S Sreesanth, Kedar Jadav, Ashok Dinda, Abhishek Nayar, A Goswami.

He has led Uttar Pradesh to two Ranji Trophy finals in the last three seasons, has scored 1216 runs in the last two seasons, and yet, Mohammad Kaif strangely isn't on the list of the 42 best cricketers in the country.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Wednesday announced squads for the Irani Cup and the Challenger Series, and Kaif, despite being a centrally contracted player with the BCCI, wasn't in any of them.

Virender Sehwag will return to action with the Irani Trophy. The India opener, who has been on the sidelines since the Indian Premier League in May with a shoulder injury, has been named skipper of the Rest of India side that will face Mumbai in the traditional domestic season opener in Nagpur from October 1.

Sehwag will lead a team filled with players eager to make their mark and break into the national team.

Irfan Pathan, Munaf Patel, M. Vijay, Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja and Pragyan Ojha have been given a chance to show what they've got ahead of what is a busy schedule for India.

While most others made the cut, Delhi opener Aakash Chopra, despite ending as one of the highest run-getters in the past seasons, has been left out.

The BCCI also announced the India Red, India Green and India Blue squads for the Challenger Series beginning October 8.

Shanthakumar Sreesanth, who has been out of international action for more than a year due to form and injury, has been included in the Challenger Series, and will hope to return national duty.