Srinivasan set to reward his loyalists

  • Sai Prasad Mohapatra, Hindustan Times, Mumbai
  • Updated: Oct 30, 2014 00:23 IST

Notwithstanding the scheduled hearing of the Supreme Court on Nov 10 after the Mukul Mudgal committee submits its report, the BCCI has zeroed down on its office bearers for the next three-year tenure starting Nov 20.

The Annual General Meeting of the board, scheduled on Nov 20, will formalise the appointment of the office bearers, but owing to the ongoing investigation, N Srinivasan has discussed the decisions with only a few members close to him.

It is reliably learnt from a couple of board officials that the existing office bearers will get an extension. That would mean that BCCI secretary Sanjay Patel, treasurer Anirudh Chaudhry and joint secretary Anurag Thakur will most likely retain their positions for another term. The current IPL chairman, Ranjib Biswal, will also continue in his position for one more year.

The BCCI had amended its constitution, allowing its office bearers to remain in a particular position for two terms.

Srinivasan is keen on rewarding his team for standing firmly behind him when he had to step aside following a Supreme Court order. Only Shivlal Yadav, the interim president, will cease to hold his post as it is only a stopgap arrangement till the apex court hears the case.

Also, Amitabh Choudhary, president, Jharkhand Cricket Association and TC Mathew, president, Kerala Cricket Association are likely to be made vice-presidents from east and south zone, respectively. Or alternatively, they could get the joint secretary’s post once the amendment to add two more posts is done later.

Karnataka State Cricket Association secretary Brijesh Patel is likely to be rewarded with a plum position in the board.

also read

MS Dhoni aims to redeem batting and captaincy ahead of deciding ODI
Show comments