Storm over Lanka's notorious no-ball grows | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 26, 2017-Wednesday
-°C
New Delhi
  • Humidity
    -
  • Wind
    -

Storm over Lanka's notorious no-ball grows

Sri Lanka rushed to make amends for the fateful no-ball that denied Virender Sehwag the chance to reach his century in Monday's ODI. But the damage had been done and the issue will not die down in a hurry. Amol Karhadkar reports.

cricket Updated: Aug 18, 2010 09:30 IST
Amol Karhadkar

Sri Lanka rushed to make amends for the fateful no-ball that denied Virender Sehwag the chance to reach his century in Monday's ODI. But the damage had been done and the issue will not die down in a hurry.

Suraj Randiv, the offspinner who bowled the no-ball, apologised to Sehwag later for his unsporting behaviour.

Then, Sri Lanka Cricket secretary Nishantha Ranatunga followed suit and apologised to the Indian team manager Ranjib Biswal. The Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) board has launched an inquiry.

Tuesday began with Sehwag tweeting: "Guys, Randiv came to my room n apologize."

The SLC followed. "Sri Lanka Cricket being winners of the 'ICC Spirit of the game' award for two consecutive years is extremely proud of its team and their achievements and conduct both on and off the field, as such it is necessary to clear the good name of Sri Lanka Cricket and Sri Lanka as a sporting nation, on a priority basis,” an SLC spokesperson said.

"In this endeavour, Sri Lanka Cricket officials have requested Anura Tennekoon to conduct an immediate internal inquiry and forward a comprehensive report in this regard, where action will be taken accordingly."

"This morning, Nishantha called me up expressing his regret about the incident," said Biswal.

"He expressed his regret officially and asked me to convey it to the Indian team, particularly to Sehwag. We have accepted Nishantha's regret and we hope that both the countries' cricketing relations go forward."

Though it was expected that Tennekoon, a former Lankan captain, would submit his report by Wednesday evening, he did so on Tuesday afternoon itself.

"I have submitted it, now it's up to the SLC to decide," Tennekoon said. The ICC, meanwhile, is watching closely. Match referee Alan Hurst has already had a word with Randiv.

"The match referee wanted to make his disappointment clear," an insider revealed.

Though the ICC cannot take any action against Randiv or any of his teammates since "no rule has been violated", it is awaiting Tennekoon's findings."If the report finds someone guilty, the ICC can charge the player or players for bringing the game into disrepute," the source said.