Taylor faces loyalty dilemma in CLT20 | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 03, 2016-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Taylor faces loyalty dilemma in CLT20

cricket Updated: Jun 30, 2010 01:07 IST

Highlight Story

New Zealand batsman Ross Taylor will have a unique dilemma in this year's Champions League Twenty20 with the New Zealand batsman having qualified for as many as three teams for the September 10-26 event.

At least another six cricketers have qualified for two teams and would have to make a choice before the CLT20 starts with a Mumbai Indians-Highveld Lions match at the Wanderers in Johannesburg, which will also host the final.

Taylor became the first player in CLT20's short history to qualify for three teams after his home province Central Stags made it to the event, along with his 'away' teams Victorian Bushrangers and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

As was the case in 2009, an 'away' team would have to pay USD 200,000 to the 'home' team to avail the service of such a player. 'Away' teams, however, are not eligible for compensation if a player chooses to play for his 'home' team.

Already, six players have qualified for two teams and they are Jacques Kallis (Warriors, Royal Challengers Bangalore), Mark Boucher (Warriors, Royal Challengers Bangalore), Makhaya Ntini (Warriors, Chennai Super Kings), Kieron Pollard (South Australian Redbacks, Mumbai Indian), Dwayne Bravo (Victorian Bushrangers, Mumbai Indian) and Cameron White (Victorian Bushrangers, Royal Challengers Bangalore).

And if Trinidad & Tobago emerge as champions of the West Indies Cricket Board's domestic Twenty20 competition, Pollard and Bravo will also join Taylor with three options for the tournament.

Meanwhile, the organisers of the tournament today announced that while Wanderers would host the first match and the final of the tournament, Durban and Centurion will host the semifinals on September 24 and 25 respectively. The 10 competing teams -- including three from India -- have been divided into two groups of five for a round robin phase before the top two teams from each group progress to the semifinals.