Tendulkar, Kumble, Dravid to receive BCCI awards | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 21, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Tendulkar, Kumble, Dravid to receive BCCI awards

Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid are all set to be felicitated tomorrow when the BCCI holds their annual awards function.

cricket Updated: Dec 15, 2007 18:08 IST

Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid, ace leg spinner Anil Kumble and former Test captain Nari Contractor will be felicitated here tomorrow for their playing feats at the Cricket Board's annual awards function.

Contractor will receive the "Lifetime Achievement Award", carrying a cheque for Rs 15 lakh, the C K Nayudu Trophy and a citation, Tendulkar is to receive two awards while Dravid and Kumble one each, a BCCI release said today.

Tendulkar will get the Polly Umrigar Award for outstanding performance in international matches in the 2006-07 season, carrying Rs five lakh prize and a trophy, as well as a special trophy for reaching personal milestones of 11,000 and 15,000 runs in Tests and ODIs.

Dravid will receive a special trophy for completing 10,000 runs in ODIs while Kumble will be felicitated and awarded a trophy for being appointed as the captain of the Indian Test team and for completing 550 wickets in Tests.

Young Karnataka batsman Robin Uthappa and lanky Bengal pacer Ranadeb Bose would each get Rs One lakh and the Madhavrao Scindia Award for scoring the highest number of runs and taking the highest number of wickets respectively in the 2006-07 domestic season.

Mumbai Cricket Association will receive a trophy for the overall best performance in the 2006-07 domestic season while woman cricketer Jhulan Goswami would receive a cheque for Rs one lakh and a trophy for becoming the ICC Women's Cricketer of the Year 2007.

The other award winners:

Anju Jain and Anjum Chopra - Arjuna awardees in women's cricket for 2006 and 2007 respectively who will get a trophy each.

Mandeep Singh (Punjab) - M A Chidambaram Trophy and Rs 50,000 as the best under-15 cricketer and Rs 50,000.

K Ajay Rana (Himachal Pradesh) - Chidambaram Trophy and Rs 50,000 as the best under-17 cricketer.

Ajinkya Rahane (Mumbai) - Chidambaram Trophy and Rs 50,000 as the best under-19 cricketer.

A S Bali (Delhi) - Chidambaram Trophy and Rs 50,000 as best under-22 cricketer.

Jaya Sharma - Chidambaram Trophy and Rs 50,000 as the best woman cricketer.