Tendulkar named best batsman, Ojha best bowler | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 03, 2016-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Tendulkar named best batsman, Ojha best bowler

cricket Updated: Apr 24, 2010 13:28 IST

Highlight Story

Mumbai Indians captain Sachin Tendulkar was on Friday named best batsman while Deccan Chargers' Pragyan Ojha bagged the best bowler honour at a glitzy IPL Awards Night in Mumbai.

Tournament's most prolific batsman, Tendulkar, who turned 37 on Saturday, has 570 runs in his kitty from 14 matches with five fifties.

He beat competitions from Royal Challengers' batsmen Jacques Kallis (553 runs from 15) and Robin Uthappa (374 from 15) and Chennai Super King's Suresh Raina (463 from 15) and Murali Vijay (432 from 14) for the Jury Award for best batsman.

Tendulkar, who is uncertain to lead Mumbai Indians in Sunday's IPL final against Chennai Super Kings after splitting his right hand webbing during the first semifinal on April 21, was also named best batsman and best captain in the Viewers' Choice category.

Left-arm spinner Ojha is the most successful bowler of IPL III with 21 wickets in his kitty from 15 matches.

He beat competition from his team-mate Ryan Harris, Ravichandran Ashwin (Chennai Super Kings), R Vinay Kumar (Royal Challenger Banaglore) and Zaheer Khan (Mumbai Indians).

Delhi Daredevils' AB de Villiers was declared best fielder while West Indian Kieron Pollard was named for best debut performance for his superb all-round performance with the bat and ball.

Among other Jury Awards, Kallis, who also have 11 wickets from 15 matches, was named for the most consistent performance award.

The jury consisted of Lalit Modi (chairman), Sunil Gavaskar, Brian Lara, Javagal Srinath, Simon Taufel and Harsha Bhogle.

The Awards Night was boycotted by the top brass of the BCCI.

BCCI President Shashank Manohar, Secretary N Srinivasan, and IPL vice-chairman Niranjan Shah stayed away from the event while team owners Vijay Mallya (Royal Challengers Bangalore), Preity Zinta (Kings XI Punjab), Shilpa Shetty and Raj Kundra (Rajasthan Royals), Gayatri Reddy (Deccan Chargers) and Jay Mehta (Kolkata Knight Riders) turned up.

The entire IPL Governing Council, barring Sunil Gavaskar and IS Bindra, also shunned the event though most of the players came to attend the ceremony.