Virat, Rohit named T20 player, Indian cricketer of the year

  • PTI, Mumbai
  • Updated: May 30, 2016 20:51 IST
Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma were named Ceat T20 Player of the Year and Indian Cricketer of the Year respectively. (PTI)

Star India batsman Virat Kohli was on Monday named the Ceat T20 Player of the Year while former India captain Dilip Vengsarkar was conferred with the Lifetime Achievement Award at a function attended by several past and present players in Mumbai.

England batsman Joe Root was named as the Ceat International Cricketer of the Year as well as International Batsman of the Year.

India offspinner Ravichandran Ashwin won the Ceat International Bowler of the Year award while Rohit Sharma was named as the Indian Cricketer of the Year.

Kohli has been in the form of his life in the shortest format recently as he was named as Player-of-the-Tournament in the World T20 held in India earlier this year and won the orange cap for amassing 973 runs in 16 matches in the just-concluded Indian Premier League (IPL), where he was also named Most Valuable Player.

60-year-old Vengsarkar had amassed 6868 runs in 116 Tests with 17 hundreds to boot, including a hat-trick of tons in successive Test appearances at the Lord’s cricket ground in England. Vengsarkar was also part of the 1983 World Cup-winning Indian team.

The award winners:

Lifetime Achievement Award: Dilip Vengsarkar

International Cricketer of the Year: Joe Root

International Batsman of the Year: Joe Root

International Bowler of the Year: Ravichandran Ashwin

Test Cricketer of the Year: Kane Williamson

ODI Cricketer of the Year: Martin Guptill

T20 Player of the Year: Virat Kohli

Indian Cricketer of the Year: Rohit Sharma

Domestic Cricketer of the Year: Shreyas Iyer

Young Player of the Year: Rishabh Pant

Special Award: Ajinkya Rahane

also read

IPL rights deal in trouble: Lodha panel wants BCCI to comply with directives
Show comments