West Zone lift Duleep Trophy | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 04, 2016-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

West Zone lift Duleep Trophy

cricket Updated: Feb 10, 2009 07:13 IST

Highlight Story

Ramesh Powar wrecked South Zone with a 10-wicket match haul as West Zone lifted their 17th Duleep Trophy title after overwhelming the hosts by 274 runs in the five-day final in Chennai on Monday.

Chasing an improbable 678 for victory, South Zone ended at 403 for nine after injured tail-ender Vinay Kumar did not come out to bat.

Off-spinner Powar starred with the ball for West Zone and ended with a match haul of 10 for 187, seven of which came in the second innings.

Powar finished the second innings with figures of 7/140.

Resuming at overnight 232 for three, skipper S Badrinath (59) and wicketkeeper Dinesh Kaarthick (75) toiled hard before their dismissal triggered a collapse.

The duo put on 121 runs for the fourth wicket before Badrinath was caught at long on by Powar off the bowling of Rajesh Pawar.

Badrinath, a centurion in the first innings, stroked eight fours during his fighting knock in the second essay.

Kaarthick was unfortunate to be dismissed hit wicket off Powar.

While watching the ball go to the ‘keeper after shouldering a Powar delivery, Kaarthick dragged his right leg back ending up disturbing the stumps in the process.