When Matt Renshaw messed with a fired-up Ishant Sharma, this happened in Ranchi | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Sep 23, 2017-Saturday
-°C
New Delhi
  • Humidity
    -
  • Wind
    -

When Matt Renshaw messed with a fired-up Ishant Sharma, this happened in Ranchi

Ishant Sharma got the first breakthrough for Indian cricket team on Day 5 of the third Test in Ranchi against Australian cricket team. Ishant was quite fired up after words were again exchanged with Matt Renshaw and Steve Smith in the middle

cricket Updated: Mar 20, 2017 18:20 IST
Somshuvra Laha
Ishant Sharma drew first blood for India on day 5 of the India vs Australia third Test in Ranchi on Monday. Ishant Sharma got the better of Matt Renshaw as India eyed a dramatic win.
Ishant Sharma drew first blood for India on day 5 of the India vs Australia third Test in Ranchi on Monday. Ishant Sharma got the better of Matt Renshaw as India eyed a dramatic win. (AP)

You don’t want to mess with Ishant Sharma even though he has gone wicketless in the first innings. Matt Renshaw realised that by losing his wicket in a highly momentous and thrilling 29th over, with just less than 30 minutes to go for lunch in the third India vs Australia Test. (LIVE BLOG | LIVE SCORECARD)

It was probably a game-changing moment with Steve Smith too being dismissed in the next over, leaving Australia stare at certain defeat.

Matt Renshaw had pulled out just when Ishant Sharma was shaping to bowl his first delivery of the 29th over. In frustration, Sharma threw the ball wide of Matt Renshaw towards wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha. The umpire immediately went up to talk to him and that should have been the end of story.

It started getting complicated once non-striker Steve Smith chirped too, igniting a few heated words from Ishant Sharma as he went past him. Smith smiled and shrugged off Sharma’s reply even as umpire Ian Gould tried to calm both sides after Virat Kohli and Murali Vijay ran in from both sides to understand what had just happened. Later on, Kohli said Renshaw had pulled out because of Vijay, not someone running across the sight screen.

Matt Renshaw wasn’t quiet as well, mouthing a few words at Sharma before he was softened up by an attempted short ball that hit his thigh pad to get lodged inside his helmet. Fired up, Sharma brought in a bat-pad before bowling another short delivery that wasn’t aimed well.

It was a super tactic though. By bringing a close-in fielder around his ribs, Ishant Sharma made Renshaw think he would be the target of a few bouncers now.

Instead Ishant Sharma bowled at him full and just outside off. The delivery stayed low but moved in enough to trap Renshaw plumb, setting off wild celebrations from Sharma.