Yuvraj, Dravid return to Test squad for SL tour | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 16, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Yuvraj, Dravid return to Test squad for SL tour

cricket Updated: Jun 27, 2010 01:10 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Left out of the Indian team for the Asia Cup, Yuvraj Singh made a swift re-entry, being named in the 15-man squad that will travel to Sri Lanka to play three Test matches early next month.

The Punjab left-hander had been left out of the ODI squad in order to give him time to sort out fitness issues and also think hard about his attitude to the game. Yuvraj’s return meant there was no place for Rohit Sharma, who has shown form and accumulated runs in recent outings, and also S Badrinath, who was part of the team in last time, when they played South Africa at home in February.

Test specialists Rahul Dravid and VVS Laxman return, as does Sachin Tendulkar, who took a break from ODI cricket to recharge his batteries and spend time with his family ahead of the hectic season.

There were no surprises in the squad, with the selectors choosing to go with three seamers in the fifteen, given that more than two were unlikely to play at any given time on the slow, low pitches in Sri Lanka.

Zaheer Khan will lead the pace attack, with Ishant Sharma and Sreesanth, neither at their very best, for company.

Suresh Raina, who recently led the ODI team in Zimbabwe in the absence of several rested senior players, is in the Test squad while wicketkeeper batsman Dinesh Karthik was overlooked in place of Bengal’s Wriddhiman Saha.

The spin department has the experienced Harbhajan Singh at the helm, with leggie Amit Mishra and left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha providing variety and completing the pack.

Squad: MS Dhoni (wk & capt.), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag (vice-capt.), Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, M Vijay, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Ishant Sharma, Sreesanth, Amit Mishra, Pragyan Ojha, Wriddhiman Saha (wk).