Zaheer nominated for 3 ICC Awards | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 07, 2016-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Zaheer nominated for 3 ICC Awards

cricket Updated: Aug 11, 2011 01:19 IST

Highlight Story

Ruled out of cricket for the next four months due to hamstring and ankle injuries, pace spearhead Zaheer Khan has something to cheer about as he has been nominated in as many as three categories for this year's LG ICC Awards, to be held in London on September 12.

Besides Zaheer, three other Indian cricketers -- Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar and skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni -- have been nominated in two categories, each.

Apart from Zaheer, five other cricketers; English duo of Jonathan Trott and Graeme Swann, South Africa's AB de Villiers and Hashim Amla and Australia's Shane Watson also feature in three different categories.

In the long list of nominees, Zaheer finds his name in the ICC Cricketer of the Year award for the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy, besides Test Player of the Year and ODI Player of the Year.

Tendulkar and Dravid also feature in the list of nominess for the Cricketer of the Year and Test Player of the Year award, while Dhoni has been nominated for ODI Player of the Year and LG People's Choice Award.

Other Indian cricketers nominated for this year's ICC awards are Ishant Sharma (Test Player of the Year), Harbhajan Singh (Test Player of the Year), Gautam Gambhir (ODI Player of the Year), Virat Kohli (ODI Player of the Year), Munaf Patel (ODI Player of the Year), Virender Sehwag (ODI Player of the Year), Yuvraj Singh (ODI Player of the Year), Jhulan Goswami (Women's Cricketer of the Year), Poonam Raut (Women's Cricketer of the Year) and Abhinav Mukund (Emerging Player of the Year).

Apart from 10 individual prizes, this year's LG ICC Awards will also feature the selection of the Test and ODI Teams of the Year and the award to the side that has adhered most to the 'Spirit of Cricket'.