Zimbabwe win toss and bat against Canada | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 24, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Zimbabwe win toss and bat against Canada

cricket Updated: Feb 28, 2011 09:22 IST
Highlight Story

Zimbabwe skipper Elton Chigumbura won the toss and decided to bat in the World Cup Group A game against Canada on Monday.

Both sides lost their opening matches, Zimbabwe going down by seven wickets to Australia in Nagpur while Canada suffered a 210-run mauling in Sri Lanka.


Elton Chigumbura (capt), Brendan Taylor, Charles Coventry, Tatenda Taibu (wkt), Craig Ervine, Sean Williams, Greg Lamb, Prosper Utseya, Graeme Cremer, Raymond Price, Christopher Mpofu.


Nitish Kumar, John Davison, Ruvindu Gunasekera, Ashish Bagai (capt/wkt), Jimmy Hansra, Zubin Surkari, Tyson Gordon, Rizwan Cheema, Khurram Chohan, Harvir Baidwan, Balaji Rao.

Umpires: Asad Rauf (PAK) and Bruce Oxenford (AUS)

TV umpire: Steve Davis (ENG)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)

Match start: 0400 GMT

Pitch conditions: The track is likely to favour batsmen, as was seen during the England-Netherlands match when nearly 600 runs were scored in the day-night game. Spinners need to be disciplined if they aim to leave a mark.