57% polling in Karnprayag, Congress hopes to retain the seat | dehradun | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

57% polling in Karnprayag, Congress hopes to retain the seat

dehradun Updated: Mar 09, 2017 20:25 IST
HT Correspondent
Uttarakhand News

Women queue up to cast their vote at a polling centre in Karnaprayag on Thursday. (Vinay Santosh Kumar/HT Photo)

Karnprayag assembly constituency in Chamoli district that went to the poll on Thursday recoded 57% voting, an official said.

Polling to Karnaprayag was postponed following the death of BSP candidate Kuldeep Kanwasi on February 12. On February 15, election was held for other 69 assembly seats. Votes will be counted on Saturday.

Congress leader and chief minister Harish Rawat, who didn’t spend much time in rest of the seats in Garhwal region, is hopeful that his party would be able to retain the seat. He campaigned at the seat for couple of days.

No untoward incident was reported from anywhere in the constituency, the official said.

The constituency lies on the border of Garhwal and Kumaon regions and houses Gairsain - which hill dwellers have been demanding for long to be made as the permanent capital of Uttarakhand.

Nine candidates, including deputy speaker of the outgoing assembly Anusuya Prasad Maikhuri of the Congress and Surendra Singh Negi of the BJP, were in the fray from the seat that has 91,849 voters, including 45,581 females.

In the 2012 polls, Congress nominee Maikhuri defeated Independent candidate Negi by just 227 votes.

“The Congress government is committed for making Gairsain as capital of state and we strongly feel voters will elect us for development in the region” said party state unit president Kishore Upadhyay.

Gairsain a sleeping town falls in the Karnprayag constituency and party is hoping that the ‘sentimental issue’ will help party to secure seat.

Riding on Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s wave, the BJP is hopeful that it will be an easy win for the party, said Ajay Bhatt, state president.

The BJP leaders like state in-charge Shyam Jaju, former chief ministers Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank and Bhagat Singh Koshyari campaigned hard in the constituency.