BJP takes a hit in U'khand, 'betrayed' four-time MP quits | dehradun | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 26, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP takes a hit in U'khand, 'betrayed' four-time MP quits

dehradun Updated: Mar 10, 2014 16:09 IST

Dehradun: Senior Bharatiya Janata Party leader and four-time Lok Sabha MP Bachhi Singh Rawat on Sunday resigned from all posts of the party in protest against the party’s state parliamentary board decision of not sending his name in the panel for the Nainital Lok Sabha constituency. Rawat, however, has not resigned from the party.

The former Union minister of state claimed in defence that he resigned from all party posts and organisational responsibilities as the state BJP parliamentary board “betrayed” him by not including his name in the panel sent to the party’s central parliamentary board for selecting candidates. He objected the single-name panel sent to the central board from Nainital-Udhamsingh Nagar parliamentary seat. Rawat said that the state parliamentary board kept him and another party colleague, Balraj Pasi, in dark by sending a single-name panel to the central leaders.

“It was decided by the state parliamentary board that a three-name panel will be sent to the central leadership for finalising nomination from the Nainital constituency. But they sent only a one-name panel to the central leadership keeping other two names out of the race. We were kept in dark despite the fact that I am also a board member. It was intentional and against party norms. I have resigned from all posts and responsibilities but not from the primary membership of the party,” said Rawat.

Rawat informed that he will also write about the incident to senior party leaders, including BJP president Rajnath Singh, party’s prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi, Arun Jaitley, LK Advani and Sushma Swaraj. “I will give my representation to the central leadership in support of my protest. I agree that the party would give only one ticket to the one of us, but they should have followed the organisational norm,” said Rawat.

He alleged that some unscrupulous minds in the state party organisation are behind this in order to extend lip service to only one leader whose name was on the panel. Rawat was a four-time LS member from Almora constituency. He defeated Congress stalwart and chief minister Harish Rawat. He was shifted to Nainital parliamentary seat in the 2009 polls after Almora was declared reserved for SCs. Rawat was defeated from Congress’ sitting LS member KC Singh Baba.