No jubilation as Cong completes two years of power in U’khand | dehradun | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 22, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

No jubilation as Cong completes two years of power in U’khand

dehradun Updated: Mar 14, 2014 13:26 IST
Highlight Story

Dehradun: Amid sloganeering and the threat of a possible split, Vijay Bahuguna was sworn in as chief minister of Uttarakhand on March 13, 2012.

Two years down the line, Harish Rawat is now at the helm of affairs in the state. But one factor that has remained unchanged in the last two years: The Congress is still a divided house. On Thursday when Congress completed two years of its rule, there was hardly any jubilation to mark the day. Senior leaders were absent from the Congress headquarters and Congress cadres were dejected.

Moreover, the big salvo was fired by Pauri MP Satpal Maharaj who said he was not interested in contesting the upcoming polls owing to the potential sabotage from the incumbent chief minister.

In the last two years the chinks in Congress have widened. Earlier Harish Rawat was accused of targeting his own government on several occasions.
Nonetheless other leaders have filled Rawat’s slot ever since he took over as CM.

“Though faces have been changed, the basic issues remain the same. Workers are miffed up with the inner party squabbling,” said Rajendra Pargain, a party worker based at Nainital.

The function to celebrate one year of Congress rule had passed off without any hullabaloo last year.

This year too chief minister Harish Rawat, who is believed to be an organisation man, skipped visiting party headquarters in capital. The state Congress president Yashpal Arya was also absent from the party office.

However, a handful of leaders distributed sweets at the office and quickly lined up for a photo shoot in the afternoon.

Party spokesperson Dhirendra Pratap said, “The Congress is united. Both ex-CM Vijay Bahuguna and incumbent CM have shown interest in the state’s progress. Whatever be the case, we are going to win all five seats.”