12 first-timers in Delhi Assembly | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Aug 18, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

12 first-timers in Delhi Assembly

Twelve freshers -- six from Congress, five from BJP and one from INLD -- made it to the Delhi Assembly on their debut.

delhi Updated: Dec 09, 2008 14:17 IST

From a firebrand youth leader to a seasoned politician to a veteran physician, the new faces in the fourth Assembly of Delhi are a mix of youthful exuberance and experience.

Twelve freshers -- six from Congress, five from BJP and one from INLD -- made it to the Assembly on their debut.

These include VK Malhotra, a veteran politician and BJP's Chief Ministerial aspirant, youth leaders Anil Chaudhury and Neeraj Basoya of Congress and Anil Jha (BJP).

Chaudhury, who defeated BJP's youth leader Nakul Bharadwaj in a close fight, has been a well-known leader of students while Jha is popular among people of eastern Uttar Pradesh and Bihar residing in the capital.

SCL Gupta, practising as a physician for the past three decades, won the hearts of voters in Sangam Vihar humbling retired IPS officer and Congress candidate Amod Kanth.

He will be another doctor in the House, the other being BJP Delhi chief Harsh Vardhan.

Another fresher is Bharat Singh who sprang a surprise opening the account Om Prakash Chautala-led INLD in the Assembly.

Deoli winner Ravinder Singh Lovely, the son of veteran Congress leader and former Union Home Minister Buta Singh, is another new face.

The other first-timers are Satya Prakash, Sumesh Shoukin, Neeraj Bosaya, Hasan Ahmed, Devender Yadav and Manoj Shaukeen.