LS Speaker rejects 13 Andhra MPs resignation | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 21, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

LS Speaker rejects 13 Andhra MPs resignation

Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar today rejected the resignations submitted by 13 MPs from Andhra Pradesh, including ten from Congress and two of YSR Congress, against the decision on Telangana, holding these were "not voluntary or genuine".

delhi Updated: Oct 19, 2013 00:05 IST

After a lull, the tussle over Telangana is back in the political circles here. Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar on Friday rejected the resignation of 13 anti-Telangana MPs of Andhra Pradesh from the House. The legislators, however, plan to stick to their stand and repeat the mass resignation episode.

Kumar rejected their letters as she felt they were not tendered voluntarily — a pre-condition for accepting resignations — after talking to seven of these MPs personally. Sources claimed that as some MPs had openly said that they are under pressure from their voters to resign. Thus, she did not consider the set of resignations as voluntary. Kumar also personally met seven MPs while others failed to meet her to explain their position.

But an undeterred Rayapati Sambasiva Rao, a senior MP of this group that resigned in protest to creation of Telangana, told HT, “The matter is not yet over. We will continue to press for our resignation. We can not remain silent when the state is getting divided.”

For the past few sessions of Parliament, The Congress has faced pressure from the two groups — for and against Telangana. The protests from both sides had often held Parliament hostage. In the upcoming session too, the UPA leadership is expected to face the heat on the contentious issue. Out of the 13 MPs who had tendered their resignation, 10 belonged to the Congress.