335 MPs take oath; PM hopes for smooth running of Parliament | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 19, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

335 MPs take oath; PM hopes for smooth running of Parliament

delhi Updated: Jun 01, 2009 22:15 IST
Highlight Story

The Lok Sabha began a new innings on Monday with winners in the elections taking oath as members of the House as Prime Minister Manmohan Singh expressed the hope that a "new beginning" will be made and Parliament be allowed to run smoothly.

In all about 335 members - over half the MPs - took the oath in the name of God or solemnly affirmed their faith in the unity, integrity of sovereignty of India and in the Constitution on the opening day of the 15th Lok Sabha.

The remaining MPs are expected to take the oath or make their affirmation on Tuesday after which the election of Speaker is scheduled on Wednesday. On Thursday, President Pratibha Patil will make an address to the joint sitting of Parliament which will unveil the new government's plan of action.

But with the experience of the previous Lok Sabha in which most of the time was lost on disruptions apparently in mind, the Prime Minister hoped for a new beginning.

"We will make a new beginning and Parliament will be allowed to run smoothly - that dialogue, discussion and reason will prevail in our proceedings. We will give all due respect to Opposition in discharging their responsibility," Singh said outside the House before it opened.

The MPs were administered the oath by seniormost member of the new Lok Sabha Manikrao Gavit who was nominated as the Protem Speaker by the President Pratibha Patil to preside over the proceedings of the House.

Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee, BJP leader LK Advani and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi were the first to take oath, followed by members of the Union Council of Ministers.