50 MPs ready to impeach Dinakaran | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

50 MPs ready to impeach Dinakaran

delhi Updated: Dec 12, 2009 01:37 IST
Nagendar Sharma

More than 50 opposition MPs from the Rajya Sabha on Friday signed a motion for the impeachment of controversial Karnataka High Court Chief Justice P.D. Dinakaran.

The BJP, CPI(M), Janata Dal(U) and the Samajwadi Party are likely to present the motion to the RS chairman next week.

“The constitutional requirement for moving the motion for impeachment of Justice Dinakaran is complete,” BJP deputy leader in the House, S. S. Ahluwalia told HT.

Senior CPI(M) leader Sitaram Yechury hinted a combined opposition could present the motion on Monday.

A motion for impeachment of a Supreme Court or High Court judge can be moved in either House of Parliament after it is signed by 50 Rajya Sabha MPs or 100 Lok Sabha MPs.

Dinakaran name was recommended by the Supreme Court panel of senior judges for promotion to the top court.

Soon after, allegations of his involvement in cases of land grabbing and corruption arose. His promotion has been rejected by the law ministry.