6 trains to be shifted to Anand Vihar terminal | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 03, 2016-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

6 trains to be shifted to Anand Vihar terminal

delhi Updated: Jun 30, 2010 23:18 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Six trains, five of them Bihar-bound, are ready to be shifted to the new Anand Vihar terminal station in East Delhi to decongest the New Delhi railway station.

While releasing the new time table for Northern Railway that has accommodated new trains announced in Rail Budget, General Manager SK Budhalakoti said most of the trains shifted to the new terminal would be Bihar-bound because this sector has a huge prominence of passengers travelling in unreserved compartments.

"These trains cater to a large number of unreserved passengers, so the rush is much more," Northern Railway General Manager SK Budhalakoti said.

The Anand Vihar terminal is a work in progress. Right now the extension of the wahing lines and the stabling lines is being done as part of Phase-II of the project. The trains will be shifted once this work is complete.

The six trains are Bhagalpur-bound Vikramshila Express, Muzaffarpur-bound Saptkranti Express, Rajendra Nagar Nizamuddin Garib Rath Express, Jainagar Nizamuddin Express and Islampur-New Delhi Magadh Express, besides Guwahati- bound North East Express.

The railway authorities had for long been dragging their feet about moving East-bound long-distance trains to Anad Vihar. The need for shifting the trains gathered momentum soon after a stampede at New Delhi station last month which claimed two lives.

New Delhi station at present handles about 7 lakh passengers and over 300 trains, thus stretching the station infrastructure to its limit.

After releasing the new zonal railway time-table, Budhalakoti told reporters three trains, including Lichchvi Express and Hatia-Delhi Jharkhand Express, are being shifted to the new terminal on July 15.

Anand Vihar station currently handles four express trains and special trains to east-bound states.

The terminals of four other trains to different stations in the city have also been changed as per the new time schedule.

Nizamuddin-Kalka Himalayan Queen Express will now terminate and originate from Delhi Sarai Rohilla instead of existing Nizamuddin station, while Nizamuddin Amritsar Shane Punjab will now originate and terminate from New Delhi station instead from Nizamuddin station.

Similarly, Delhi Sarai Rohilla-Kathgodam Ranikhet Express will now originate and terminate from Old Delhi station instead of Delhi Sarai Rohilla.